Opposition Demands Puducherry Chief Minister To Prove Majority In Assembly


Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy has been requested to show his majority within the Assembly


A delegation of opposition events led by All India NR Congres or AINRC at the moment submitted a plea to an official within the Lt Governor’s workplace, searching for a path to Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy to show his authorities’s majority on the ground of the Assembly.

A day after the Congress authorities misplaced its majority with the resignation of yet another MLA, the delegation of all 14 legislators belonging to the opposition within the territorial meeting, led by N Rangasamy, introduced a joint memorandum to the officer on particular responsibility, G Theva Needhi Das at Raj Nivas.

Seven legislators together with Mr Rangasamy belonging to All India NR Congress, 4 from AIADMK and three nominated MLAs of the BJP, who’ve voting rights shaped a part of the delegation.

Mr Rangasamy, who’s the Leader of Opposition, advised reporters that the memorandum has been submitted to the official and stated they’ve sought a path to Mr Narayanasamy to show his majority on the ground of the House.

Kiran Bedi was eliminated because the Lt Governor of Puducherry final night time and Telangana Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan, who has been assigned extra cost of the union territory would assume workplace on Thursday, sources advised information company Press Trust of India.

Ms Soundararajan tweeted saying she acquired the warrant of appointment to discharge features of Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry.


The resignation by John Kumar on Tuesday, who grew to become the fourth legislator to stop the meeting since final month, lowered the numbers of the Congress-DMK alliance to 14 within the 33-member meeting and it now has an efficient energy of 28.

The occasion place within the meeting as of Tuesday: Congress (10), DMK three, All-India NR Congress seven, AIADMK 4, BJP three and one unbiased who had supported the federal government all alongside. Four Congress MLAs have resigned and one member had been disqualified.

Outgoing Lt Governor Kiran Bedi earlier within the day stated her work was a sacred responsibility, fulfilling her constitutional and ethical tasks.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV employees and is printed from a syndicated feed.)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here